P is officially a 1.5 year old!

 

Once upon a time you have a baby & you think to yourself that you simply could not love her or him more & then, your heart explodes every day when your baby becomes a tiny little human. Now it seems like I’m in a constant state of this all consuming love.  This stage is amazing to watch and experience as a parent. I just fall again every time she says a new word or does a small gesture. I remember when she learned how to say “please,” hell, she could be asking for a steak knife and I’d give it to her as long as her tiny little voice said “please.”

With that said, I figured I’d celebrate this half birthday since I sort of stopped documenting her every move, milestone and stage. So let’s see if I can be a super mom & sum up the last six months.

Walking-I remember she wasn’t walking at her 1st birthday but she took steps here and there. She really started to walk around 13 months. Since then, it’s walking first. She doesn’t spend much time in her stroller, so basically,  if she’s not walking, I’m holding her.

Teeth-She got her molars in like 3 months ago and her incisors are peeking through now (just the tip). Her teeth came through early from the beginning, and in this moment she loves to bite. I mean, today–just today, she started to kiss instead of bite so I’m really hoping that sticks. Otherwise, I need help! I told the pediatrician today, and she thought it was due to frustration for not being able to communicate. I just think growing teeth sucks but she knows not to bite–she just thinks it’s funny to do so.

Traits- She now boycotts bows, headbands and any hair accessories. She refuses pony tails, pig tails, etc. I literally leave her with her wild curls, every day. She also tells me which shoes she’d like to wear, so no matter the outfit, she’s usually wearing her orange burkenstocks.

She can say words like: please, I love you, more, all done, no-no, and thank you. I got her to say apple and broccoli once, but never again :).

P loves books, she usually makes me read her about 56 books a night. I’m not kidding, I have to read at least 6 before I can call it a night. If I can’t find her, she’s usually in a corner in a pile of books. I think I’ve read Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? like 4,504,050 times. I actually know the sequential order of the animals by memory.

She eats about everything, we’re slowly introducing things I’ve held back from her like juices and chocolate milk, she still loves milk and water so I’m happy with that. She’s still weird about eggs, though.

She hates high chairs. She LOVES her bellybutton (as if it were her pacifier)

I read a quote, or several, from Ryan Reynolds, which sort of sums this all up:

“I used to say to [Blake], ‘I would take a bullet for you. I could never love anything as much as I love you.’ And then the second I looked in that baby’s eyes, I knew in that exact moment, if we were ever under attack, I would use my wife as a human shield to protect that baby.”

See more funnies here

tell me more.

