12 months with P!

DSC_0604

What She’s Wearing: Baby Gap Sweater (here) & Red Riding Onesie Dress (here) on sale!! & Fox Socks from LittleSaylorShoppe that I found on insta!

DSC_0610 DSC_0612

Her aunt Danielle got her this book, I didn’t mean to incorporate it in to the photos but it was next to the glider and P picked it up–& who can control a determined 1 year old? In the event anyone is looking for a super cute gift idea, this book is personalized for the birthday girl/boy & includes a spot to add a photo! #yourewelcome

Clothing Size:  18 months fo’sho. 12 months is pushing it these days with P’s chubby legs. I just recently purged P’s closet, aside the obvious heartbreak from putting aside clothes that she never wore (mostly due to AZ weather not permitting long sleeves/pants), but it’s just really difficult to put aside clothes that she grew out of. I had 6 month clothes lingering in her closet & going through her closet made me realize that little one is a toddler now 😦

Diaper Size:  Still 4’s, but changing her diaper is the worst. It’s like the blind leading the blind now-a-days. She moves, fiercely, as I try to wipe and change her. 9 out of 10 times, I fasten her diaper mid air because she refuses to lay there for the 4 seconds to swap a diaper out and wipe, respectively. If I potty train next month, it’s because of this “issue,” also anytime I wipe/bathe P, I think of Amy Shumar’s opening SNL monologue and laugh at my inside joke with myself.

Milestones: P officially stands & has taken around 4-6 steps at any given time, howevs she’s not fully committed to the idea of walking but girlfriend is a lot more comfortable with it & will walk to me if I encourage enough (aka have a popsicle waiting for her). As for talking, she chats all day long, she says the basic words like MaMa, DaDa, etc, but she jabbers in her own language that is a series of sounds a clicks. I love her language, it usually makes anyone around her laugh.

DSC_0603

Sleeping:  My sister gave me a copy of The Sleep Sense Program by Dana Obleman because obviously, P’s sleeping or lack there of, has been an ongoing issue. I’ll report back once I implement their logic & let you know if I’m still waking up every couple of hours. Coffee, Thank YOU, for keeping me awake this past year! Wish my luck with the CIO method, aka worst parent duty ever.

Teeth:  8 teeth, no signs of any newbies coming in.

Favorite Activities:  Eating! She’s enjoying straws and food pouches. She loves her toys, opening cabinet doors, putting anything/everything in her mouth, she likes toys that allow her to walk/ride on them, she likes to bounce, loves to crawl like a maniac, walk along bordering objects, playing with a kitchenette (best kid purchase, ever!), anything involving water and discovering the world one day at a time!

. . .

So, one year & 9 months ago…

I had phoned my sister after finding out I was pregnant (at the time, I was around 7 weeks along) only to come to find out we were both expecting! Initially, our due dates were about 2 weeks apart, but I went in to labor early and our daughter’s ended up being less than a day apart! My sister (& the rest of Canadian family) came out when P was 4 months & we took the photos of the girls, & this past weekend I went to Canada to visit them so we decided to take the same picture (or tried to at least!) ❤ ❤

IMG_2749 DSC_0707

Anyway, first time flying with P so we could attend my niece’s adorable Halloween themed birthday party, here’s a pic of the birthday girl below! 🙂

DSC_0638

P also got  the chance to meet some of her family for the first time, here are her great grandmother’s and great grandfather and great aunt & uncle. I’m so happy she got to meet them all, these people have been such influential people in my life and not everyone is fortunate to meet their great grandparents and P got to meet 3 of them! It really gives you perspective on life having your daughter meet your grandparents & how quickly 30 years can pass.

DSC_0632 DSC_0629

But let’s talk about the obvious like how my grandmother  (pictured right) is almost 87 & she’s more fly than I am.

tell me more.

