P’s First Birthday

DSC_0510

Happy Birthday my sweet little girl!

I had so much fun planning this party for her! For her baby shower, I decided on a Madeline theme & I thought it would be fun to continue using book themes in hopes  little P will appreciate reading. It’s weird, having a kid makes the things you loved at their age nostalgic. I love rereading the books I had as a little girl. Although reading to a one year old feels like I’m reading to a deaf ears 🙂 Everyone talks about how important it is to read to a child but EVERYONE fails to tell you how little they listen. If the book has textures, P will like it, otherwise she’s hitting it out of my head or crawling away from me (yup, still no walking for this one year old!)

Thanks to Pinterest & sleepless nights, I pretty much set up a board with ideas from other creative moms and began planning with Laura (her grandmother) which definitely gave us a head start. If I could offer any advice (#BOOmomadvice), giving yourself a couple of months to plan makes it a lot cheaper & really gives you options–it’s when you’re running around last-minute you’re having to spend a lot of money.

Luckily, Dr. Seuss was in the dollar buckets at Target! We scored a ton of decorations from there around back-to-school time. Lunch boxes, bags, clocks, the hat, Loardy–dollar buckets are your best friend for kid parties! I also scored some great prizes for the party, too!

My favorite part was asking everyone to sign Happy Birthday To You by Dr. Seuss for Presley to have as a keepsake.

Here are some photos of the party decor & food:

DSC_0502DSC_0496

((blue raspberry jello w/ swedish fish)) make as normal, let it sit for an hour and then add the fish
((dyed noodle pasta salad))

DSC_0492DSC_0485

((dollar store napkins/cutlery, paper tape = cute bow ties)) stole that idea from my family friend Lisa!

((YooHoos (from the dollar store!!)), Costco applesauce packets for the tots, Lorax decorated Nutterbutters (add yellow icing & candy eyes), Strawberry/banana skewers (make Dr. Seuss hats))

DSC_0484DSC_0480

The AMAZINGLY talented cake maker (SugarMama Cakes) and Lorax Lemonade

DSC_0490

DSC_0507DSC_0562

P’s outfit: Dr. Seuss Shirt from Amazon and Romper from Belle Threads

IMG_3500

DSC_0570DSC_0522DSC_0481

As party favors, I used a mustache mold from Hobby Lobby (in the baby shower isle) and yellow confection chocolate and gave those to guests (or kids mostly 🙂 ).

To keep the kids entertained, I bought the $5 dollar play dough & printed a couple of copies of Dr. Seuss b&w clipart and had a coloring contest, seemed to keep the little ones occupied and got a ball pit on Amazon (cheap find)!

We had shirts made from Brand X in Tempe,  they have a ton of fun options for customized shirts!

I’d say the party was a success & now my little girl is a 1-year-old!

THANK YOU to all our family & friends that celebrated with us, hope you enjoyed it as much as we did!

tell me more.

