10 months with P!

DSC_0358 DSC_0378

What She’s Wearing: Osh Kosh Top (here) & Osh Kosh Pleather!! Skirt (here), oh & her hair clips (similar here)–all from Target!

Clothing Size:  Definitely 12 months now, I can squeeze her in some of my  9 month favorites but def more on the 12 month size. She’s a butter ball, it’s all I ever hoped for!

DSC_0365

Diaper Size:  4’s, I try to make it easy on myself and give myself more to work with when changing a diaper on a squirmy baby. It’s so funny, not that I would ever bring up poop in a conversation, but here I am, bringing it up, it’s super funny when she poops! She just stops in the middle of whatever she’s doing, like STOPS & makes sure to look you square in the eye & then poops. Maybe it’s even accommodated with a grunt or loud noise. As for her poop (am I really having an entire conversation about this?), it’s getting to the stage where cloth diapering is  going to be MUCH easier. I’m coming back for you, clothies! Safe to say, I’ve only had to buy maybe one or two boxes of diapers since girlfriend grew out of newborns, so even if I’m failing on cloth diapering, I’m still #winning. /PoopRant

DSC_0359

Milestones: Okay, she says “da da” and means Sergio. I’m so bummed it wasn’t mama first :(. I’m still not sure if her “mama” means me, since she usually only says it when she’s crying and chances are I’m the one tending to her because I can’t handle it when she cries. Oh, I tried the cry-it-out method to see if she would go to sleep on her own (& lasted a whole :38 seconds). She has also begun to use P’s to say Papa and I think she can say “yay” and “hi,” obviously she’s babbles and makes a lot of “dub duba dub” sounds. As for other milestones–she’s def about to walk, she pulls herself up on anything/everything and crawls like a maniac. She’s too fast! Like so fast, I don’t know how I’m going to get anything done. As for her next milestone, we’re still working on waving and high fives, because to me that’s more important than  animal sounds people. She also dances (to Harry Belafonte)–not sure what that’s about. Cue: Jump the Line.

Sleeping:  She naps (2-3x day) and still doesn’t sleep through the night. We just bought a temperpedic cover for her crib mattress, I am hoping my pretty penny will help her sleep through the night now. Her stroller and our mattress are temperpedic so I think she’s been spoiled & I hope that it will work. The nice thing about her getting older is, even though Presley has yet to sleep through the night, people FINALLY stopped asking me whether she sleeps through the night the second they find out I had a baby. “If I had a dollar for every time..”

Teeth:  She’s definitely still teething, just not sure what teeth to expect next. She has her same FOUR top and TWO bottom, but she’s back to ear itching and drooling so I imagine something’s happening below the gums. Usually I don’t notice until her teeth poke through. Bless her teething necklace.

Talking:  Girlfriend is definitely talking up a storm! She screams (mostly she competes with loud noises/noisy places) and makes all sorts of sounds otherwise. She mimics people & sort of has conversations with people (cue hand signals). Very Italian of her.

DSC_0340

Favorite Activities: Mean mugging (see picture above). She likes to be out & doing things. Doesn’t matter what things, she’s even perfectly content with being outside (& it’s a kajillion degrees in AZ right now). We went to the children’s museum earlier today–I think as long as she can be entertained, she’s happy. This past month we went to a baseball game. She had so much fun until that dreadful 7 o’clock hour when she begins to turn in to a pumpkin (which means we left after the 50/50 raffle & had to skip the fireworks). Other than that, girlfriend LOVES the water (swimming, bath time, splash pads, etc). She loves to dance (to Rastafarian 70’s music nonetheless)! She just likes to be with people, as long as “her people” are around (stranger danger in full effect), overall, this little one is a happy camper.

Foods: Presley pretty much eats it all. She loves yogurt, eggs and oatmeal in the morning. Snacks usually involve fruit, cheese, veggies or meat and dinner is usually whatever her grandmother makes her (or what I happen to be eating). She’s still nursing & drinking formula. At this point, I’m ready to be done nursing (so ready), but I figure what’s another 2 months? I don’t know. I’m going to see how the temperpedic helps (see above) & then I can have a little more freedom.

Mom Brag: I’m first to admit, I don’t have it together. Kudos to you moms who do. Since I was about 6 months pregnant, I have been making a photobook for P of my pregnancy and as of 10 months postpartum, I have finally completed it. YAS! For all you expectant mothers, you should look in to making one here. I just hope it doesn’t take you as long as it took me!

tell me more.

